PMG   Programming Methodology Group
The Programming Methodology Group is a research group in the MIT Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory dedicated to research in distributed systems, object oriented databases, programming languages, and software design.

Our most recent research focuses on very large scale distributed systems based on distributed hash tables. The IRIS project is a large, ongoing collaboration. A summary of our contributions can be found here.

Current Members
Barbara Liskov
Dorothy Curtis
Liuba Shrira
Recent PhD Alumni
Winnie Cheng
James Cowling
Dan Ports
David Schultz
Ben Vandiver
Recent Publications
IFDB: Decentralized Information Flow Control for Databases
Summarizing Audit Trails in the Aeolus Security Platform
Aeolus Reference Manual
Serializable Snapshot Isolation in PostgreSQL
Viewstamped Replication Revisited
All Publications
Previous Work
Upgrades Automatic Software Upgrades is a project to develop techniques for upgrading software in object-oriented databases and in robust distributed systems.
Jif Techniques and tools that allow practical control of privacy of information.
PolyJ Efficient, generic abstractions for Java without speed penalties or code bloat.
Thor A distributed object-oriented database system.
VR A protocol for state-machine replication.
CLU An object-oriented programming language.
Argus A distributed programming system and language.
The Programming Methodology Group has research opportunities available for MIT students at all levels (Ph.D., S.M., M.Eng., UROP). If you are interested, please e-mail
Aeolus Aeolus is a project to develop a platform for building secure distributed applications using the decentralized information flow control model.
Byzantine Fault Tolerance BFT is a project aimed at developing algorithms and implementation techniques to build practical Byzantine fault-tolerant systems, that is, systems that work correctly even when some components are faulty and exhibit arbitrary behavior.

For more info please contact Last updated: Mar 20, 2012.